The seven emotions in traditional Chinese medicine are joy, anger, melancholy, worry, grief, fear, and fright. Experiencing any of these emotions as a reaction to external stimuli is normal human behavior. Only when these emotions become sudden, extreme, uncontrollable, and chronic they disrupt the human state of health and become major cause of disease.

Each emotion corresponds to a certain organ. Joy relates to the Heart, anger relates to the Liver, grief and melancholy relate to the Lung, worry relates to the Spleen, and fear and fright relate to the Kidney. When excessive each of these emotions injures its corresponding organ and vice versa - if the organ is injured the corresponding emotion manifests.

One emotion may injure more than one organ.



Liangyue, D., Yijun, G., Shuhui, H., Xiaoping, J., Yang, L., Rufen, W., Wenjing, W., Xuetai, W., Hengze, X., Xiuling, X., Jiuling, Y. (1987). Chinese acupuncture and moxibustion. Beijing: Foreign Languages Press


Related Articles:








Other Emotions - Attachment

The Toxic Effect of Disturbing Emotions and Some Ways to Approach Them

The Benefit of Causality



My Bookmarks

No bookmarks yet!